UTP University of Science and Technology in Bydgoszcz


UTP University of Science and Technology (Uniwersytet Technologiczno - Przyrodniczy – the UTP) in Bydgoszcz has a 60 year-long tradition going back to 1951 when the first school of higher education in Bydgoszcz was created - the Evening School of Engineering. Early in its history, it educated chemical and mechanical engineers. Having been converted into the Engineering School of Higher Education, in 1964, full-time, evening and extramural programmes were offered by 4 technological faculties.

The development of agricultural studies was launched in 1969 by the establishment in Bydgoszcz of the branch of the Agricultural School of Higher Education from Poznań. This branch became independent in 1972 by turning into the Faculty of Agriculture with Animal Production Section. Pursuant to the decree of Prime Minister of August 20, 1974, those two schools were joined into the Jan and Jędrzej Śniadecki’s University of Technology and Agriculture in Bydgoszcz, renamed the UTP University of Science and Technology in 2006.

UTP University of Science and Technology is a multi-profile school of higher education offering technical, agricultural, art and in the field of management study programmes.

The final examination certificate (matura) is required for admission to the UTP. Admission is based on the results of the final examination. We offer full or part-time of I (BSc, Bachelor in Engineering), II (MSc) and III (doctorate study) degrees.

UTP University of Science and Technology offers the following fields (programmes) of study:

I degree – Bachelor in Engineering

Technical Sciences Agricultural Sciences
Agriculture and Forestry Engineering Agriculture
Architecture and Urban Planning Animal Husbandry
Biomedical Engineering Biotechnology
Chemical Technology Environmental Protection
Civil Engineering Food Technology and Human Nutrition
Design Studies -------
Electrical Engineering Management Sciences
Electronics and Telecommunications Management
Environmental Engineering Management and Production Engineering
Information and Communication Technology (ICT) -----
Interior Design -----
Material Engineering -----
Mechanical Engineering -----
Technical Physics -----
Transport -----

II degree – Master study

Technical Sciences Agricultural Sciences
Chemical Technology Agriculture
Civil Engineering Animal Husbandry
Electrical Engineering Biotechnology
Electronics and Telecommunications Environmental Protection
Environmental Engineering -----
Mechanical Engineering Management Sciences
Technical Physics Management
Transport -----

III degree (doctorate study)

  • Agronomy
  • Animal Husbandry
  • Environment Development
  • Machinery Construction and Operation

The teaching process is supported by following faculties:

  • Faculty of Agriculture and Biotechnology
  • Faculty of Animal Breeding and Biology
  • Faculty of Chemical Technology and Engineering including Institute of Mathematics and Physics
  • Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Faculty of Management
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty of Telecommunications and Electrical Engineering

Throughout the 60 year-history, the studies at the University have been completed by over 43 thousand graduates, mostly majoring in civil engineering, mechanical engineering and agriculture sciences. Our graduates include e.g. the world-famous Sydney Olympic stadium designer, Edmund Obiała, MSc, and a cryptologist, professor Józef Pieprzyk. Seven faculties, inter-faculty units and administration employ about 1300 people, 680 of which are academics, including almost 140 professors. Six faculties of the University are entitled to award PhD degree, out of which three (the Faculty of Agriculture and Biotechnology, Faculty of Animal Breeding and Biology and Faculty of Mechanical Engineering) also to confer the degree of doktor habilitowany equivalent to the Doctor of Science Degree. The scientific and educational activity is based on co-operation with almost all the domestic universities of technology and agriculture and with many foreign universities and scientific centres. Five academics of the University have been granted the title of Doctor Honoris Causa. The recognition of the University academics of Polish science is very much evidenced by their frequent participation in committees and sections of the Polish Academy of Sciences and the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, as well as the works of The Polish Accreditation Committee.



UTP University of Science and Technology in Bydgoszcz

ul. Ks. Kordeckiego 20
85-225 Bydgoszcz, Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship, Poland
+48 52 373 02 80

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you