Maastricht University, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences


The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASoS) is one of the six faculties at Maastricht University. It was founded in 1994. There are approximately 240 employees and around 1800 students. The format of the education is, like at all the faculties of Maastricht University, based on the principle of Problem-Based Learning (PBL). The faculty is internationally oriented and most of the programmes are offered in English. Its students come from all over the world. The faculty is located in the centre of Maastricht, in two renovated buildings on the Grote Gracht: the ‘Hof van Tilly’ and the ‘Soirongebouw’.

Academic programmes

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences offers two three-year bachelors programmes: Cultuurwetenschappen/Arts and Culture; and European Studies, and eight one-year masters programmes: Kunst, literatuur en samenleving/Art, Literature and Society; European Studies; Globalisation and Development Studies;European Public Affairs; European Studies on Society, Science and Technology; Kunst, cultuur en erfgoed/Arts and Heritage; Politiek en samenleving/ Politics and Society and Media Culture. Furthermore, two two-year research masters are offered: Cultures of Arts, Science and Technology; and European Studies.

The faculty has a Graduate School with an intake of about 10 PhD students each year.


The Research Institute for Arts and Culture encompasses all research of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. The Research Institute comprises three programmes: 1. Politics and Culture in Europe, 2. Science, Technology and Society, and 3. Cultural Memory and Diversity. The research area overlaps both the humanities and the social sciences.



Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

Maastricht University
Grote Gracht 90-92

6211 SZ Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you