Keystone logo
Eastern Macedonia and Thrace Institute of Technology

Eastern Macedonia and Thrace Institute of Technology

Eastern Macedonia and Thrace Institute of Technology


Welcome to TEI Eastern Macedonia and Thrace (ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ)

The TEI Eastern Macedonia and Thrace (ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ) was established in 1976 under the name TEI Kavala. The present form is the result of institutional reforms and changes. First opened as Center for Technical Education (KATE), one year after a Center for Technical Training (KATEE) and in 1983 as Technological Educational Institute (TEI). The 2001 Technological Educational Institute (TEI) and since 2007 as a Higher Education Institution (HEI). Initially (1976-1983), the KATE / KATEE had six departments, known today as the ancient Departments of TEI. In 1985 founded the first Annex of TEI Drama where he settled the Department of Forestry and Natural Environment Management, but which was launched in 1986. In the same year founded and Business Administration, which joined the Economics and Management School (GFS). During 1999-2007 4 more departments were added to TEI AMTH, known as Enlargement Departments. With the operation of the second Department of Drama, that of Landscape Architecture (2003), was established and 3rd Faculty TEI AMTH named School of Agricultural Technology (STEG). In 2009 it was founded a third Drama Department, the Enology Department, which does not belong to STEG but operates as an independent department until institutionalize the School of Agricultural Technology and Food Technology and Nutrition where science belongs. The current building of TEI Eastern Macedonia and Thrace is a cardioid building with unparalleled views field to the Gulf of Kavala. Its construction began in 1983 and finally surrendered in 1995. The complex (campus) occupies an area of 132,000 m2 with cover 36.000 m2, of which 11,000 m2 are classrooms, 11.000 m2 workshops (TOL and Repair), 11.000 m2 are three dormitories capacity 450 beds and 3,000 m2 are the building of the Library. ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ operated six separate Postgraduate Programs (PSP). With the exception of the newest Departments of TEI Eastern Macedonia and Thrace, Oenology and Landscape Architecture, for which imminent issuance of Presidential Decrees (PD) all other departments have statutory occupational rights. The ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ is in the top ten among the 16 TEI and 28th among 82 universities and colleges in the country. In the world, ranking is in the first half (position 5264) of 12,000 best universities in the world. The measurement (methodology) is in line with the Cybermetrics Lab indicators, in particular, those related to the production and academic publication of scientific knowledge. The educational process at ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ carried out by the teaching faculty members (permanent) which are hierarchically divided into 4 classes: a) Professor b) Associate Professor, c) Assistant Professor and d) Lecturer. The members of the OP are assisted in their work by Scientific and Laboratory Associates (temporary), from lab technicians and administrators. The ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ gives particularly great importance to research and innovation. Its aim is to establish strict procedures of research excellence at all levels of academic functioning. To this end, the TEI AMTH publishes two journals in English. AN important institutional tool that connects the academic staff of the ΤΕΙ ΑΜΘ research and innovation is the East Macedonia and Thrace Technological Research Center (TRC-AMG). The Centre was founded in 2004 and is a private entity (private entities), and operates in seven sectors: a) Radiation b) Fuel, c) Marble, d) New Product Planning, e) Marketing f) Computer and g) Environment.


  • Greece Online

    St. Lucas, Kavala